Penang Escapade


We did the unthinkable and left the maid at home and took off to Penang for 2 nights. Our first stop along the way was at Ipoh of course. We had our favourite Ipoh Hor Fun and the caramel custard which I bought take-away for Alice and also another for myself! Greedy me! (location: Thean Chun, Ipoh Old Town)

Upon reaching Penang, we drove straight to my customer’s place to drop off the load of stuff he ordered. Terrible, despite the fact that I drove all the way and saved him $$ on transport, he still wanted to hang on to my payment! Blek!

Then we saw a man selling the peanut Apom and I went to order some. I was waiting…waiting…n then some guy came over to collect his apom, then another person came to collect and I was wondering if the seller was kinda bias towards me since I didn’t speak Hokkien. After a while only did I realise those customers had presviously ordered earlier on and there was a long queue of orders! The seller reminds himself of the orders using coins placing them in order! So smart!! The apom was made over charcoal fire! Authentic & of course yummieee! I didn’t take a photo as I was not prepared with my camera! Shiats…(location:near the Pulau Tikus market, opposite the Police Station)

After that we checked in the hotel (supplied by APah’s company) and it was quite a big and comfortable room with quite a good view of the sea. It’s not a resort but a city hotel, go figure.

Alice came to pick us up to go to the public beach since the beach in front of our hotel is kinda not conducive for the children to play! Kieran was so excited and jumped in immediately with me screaming at him not to swim too far out. There were quite a lot of rocks and shells that he cut his feet. Both Kylie and Darrius were very happy with just playing sand and pouring water in the sand.

Then we found a crab claw and another smaller crab carcass which was huge and was immediately imagining it as our dinner….Kieran kept asking to cook it! hahahhaha…

Then suddenly we saw this couple taking their wedding photographs…very adventurous poses they made! The photograper was shooting from above the cliff with his terrer-menerrer zoom lens..but look at my shot with my miserable macro lens…booo hoooooo…..

Dinner was seafood not too far from the beach. It was tomyum cooked with coconut water..yummilicious! We had crabs of course…can’t help it can’t we?? (location: Along Ferringhi Beach)

On the way back to the hotel, I couldn’t resist stopping over at Gurney Drive Hawker centre to get my crispy Apom. It was indeed yummy and well worth the exorbitant price they charged! Sorry no photos as we gobbled em down in no time!

After Alice dropped us back at the hotel, I called Apah and told him I wanted to have my Pulau Tikus Char Koay Teow. He brought along his colleague and off we went. There was a Prawn Paste Chee Cheong Fun which Apah ordered one plate and the kids gobbled em down and asked for more! The CKT was great and after that we retired to bed very satisfied.

We kicked off the next day with Prawn noodles and more peanut apom but it was so so nya…We then drove to Lorong Delima to get my favourite Prawn Paste chee cheong fun before going to Alice’s place. (location: on the way to Penang Bridge, off Green Lane) Bought 2 packets, one for me, one for Alice. After eating & yakkingΒ  & packing..we went to the Aquarium at Teluk Maung, Alice correct me if I’m wrong about the location.

The kids enjoyed themselves despite the small size of the aquarium..

Feeding the fish..

Interesting star fish..

Very sad turtle in captivity….

Lunch was nearby and it was really good…look at the very satisfied customer…

After lunch (burp..) we went off to the hotel but detoured to get the famous cendol near Komtar and some banana apom along Jalan Burmah. The kids were tired, Kylie fell asleep first and then followed by Darrius. Upon reaching the hotel, the kids woke up from their very short nap and was all excited to get ready for the swim. It was such a hot day and the sun was blazing so we let the kids play in the bath tub first. They got carried away and we ended up with a very wet bathroom. Off they went to the pool and surprisingly the water was freezing cold despite the hot day. Kylie panicked after Kieran took her for a ride on the slide. She refused to get in the pool after that till I coaxed her and carried her along.

After the swim we took very quick showers and off we went for dinner at a Nyonya Restaurant. (Forgot the name..kakaka) and food was ok, liked especially the otak otak..After dinner it was kinda drizzling but our diehard urge to savour the charcoal fried Char Koay Teow overruled the rain. It was kinda oily but yummy nevertheless!

The next day, we let the kids go for another round of swimming and checked out after that. Aliced texted that she was down with diarrhea and couldn’t join us (no thanks to piggin out sessions with me la). We stopped over at Pulau Tikus for breakfast again and tried my luck at getting the cheque from my customer but he was not in! Rats!

We then left for more food before we leave. It was Genting at Delima again, had the rich assam laksa (only opens in the afternoon) and more Chee Cheong Fun. Kieran was hit with diarrhea at this point and completely made a mess on his underpants. This got Apah very upset and we had to throw away the underpants…eeewww..n double ewwww..it was quite a good & new one summore…bleah! Quickly ate and off we went.

Stopped over at Ipoh for tea and Kieran blasted another round and this time we decided to save the underpants! I can’t throw away 2 good underpants in one day! We hurried off and upon reaching home, Kieran again blasted the toilet and started throwing up too! It was quite a serious food poisoning episode! After they came back from the doctor, I too threw up and started purging! Kylie too had watery stool for the next few days and Kieran took 3 days to recover! Geez..we suspect it was due to the banana apom from Jln Burmah as Apah was the only one who didn’t eat those and he didn’t get hit at all!

And what was the maid doing without us around? Watching tv non stop (she was probably lying on my sofa with the air con on too!) of course, weyo? The tv was burning hot when we returned and chores were not completed!!

But after all that, I still felt it was worth it eating all those fantastic food! That goes to show how greedy this Amah is!

27 responses to “Penang Escapade

  1. Cool. Too bad there were no pics of the peanut apom. Now that’s a good name. Been wondering how to call those ‘ban chean kuih’.

    Cheers!
    The Malaysian Explorer

  2. I’m missing Malaysian food already…

  3. oh boy, the tom yum in coconut sure looks delicious!!!!!

    I really like Darrius’s photo here. He is sooooo cute lah!!

  4. the tomyam in coconut looks yummy! i will def love it!
    maid tends to be lazy when knowing si thau poh not home for 2 days. wat can we do? i think i will oso encounter such in future, which i hope not!

  5. Ahh…the Pulau Tikus apom man is my favourite! We never miss it whenever we’re in Penang. Die die also must eat!

  6. Haha. Thank god the underwear could hold the blasts right and he didnt make a mess in the car! πŸ˜›

    lolz

  7. Just emailed you the pic we took at that CKT place… hehehehe

    I hope Kieran don’t hate Penang now… hehehe Next time we pack Bento for the kids lar so they don’t have to suffer so much! hahahaah

    It was really fun having you guys over.

  8. Oops! That makan place near the aquarium is called Batu Maung and the one by the beach is called Sunshine Bay Seafood.

  9. a very satisfied customer indeed πŸ™‚

  10. haha… i know which customer u r referring too! so much makan wor.. i wan!!!! sobs…

  11. hahhaha…just like me. When i go to cameron, i left my maid at home for two nights too. When we are back, she didnt realise, she still watching DVD!! But lucky she did do the chores i ask her, if not……..

    Makan trip!!! Tsk tsk tsk

  12. Hope all of u have fully recovered.

    as u said, diarrhea also nevermind cos it is worth it..especially u r on a holiday.

  13. wah…. a real fun makan trip. You sure know your way around for good food. Sorry the KIDS had food poisoning though. Of course you don’t mind… don’t have to work out to lose the calories…. hehe… (I’m totally with you there)

  14. Slurpppssssss reading your post makes me want to drive to Penang NOW!!!! Sorry to hear about your lau-sai episodes. But worth it right??? LOL

  15. how i wish i was in Penang and tried all those foods mentioned by you!

  16. Ha so you go to Genting too for the Chee Cheong Fun. That place has nice food. I get my Big Fat black mee (KL Hokkien mee) there.

    Hey why never call ah??

  17. looks like a great trip…i guess we have to close one eye if the maid is wtching tv since they can’t be working all day but then…if her chores not finished yet – then it’s not acceptable. πŸ™‚

  18. I also did the unthinkable lately. Left my maid at home for 5 days! She finished a whole donkey list of chores I gave her.. so.. lucky her. Else.. I sure ‘cha’ her. πŸ˜›

    I miss Penang a lot. Miss all the yummy yummy hawker food along Gurney drive. Hope I can go there again…

  19. wah…so yummy the curry in the coconut. good that angeleyes is there to be yur guide :p

  20. Aiyo….Food Poisoning is the worse man!!!

    Didn’t know that Penang is famous for Apom leh.

    And of course APah’s company hotel is in the CITY lah. What for they give the corporate hotel by the beach. “Chou koung” lah. Not to relax wei.

  21. Wah, so many things to makan there in Penang ah, makan until lau sai.
    The other day, when we were in Singapore, my nephew also shit in his underpants, I asked him to take it off, then stuff it back into his side pocket. (bring home for your mommy I said) This ah yi very mean one. hahaha…

  22. U making my mouth water ler…glad u enjoyed all the food despite the drama ending…ur maid very “yau meen”. U shld have locked the TV in your bedroom. ha ha!

  23. aiyo…it must hv been a bad poisoning until kieran blasted n blasted like that…same for me, i would hv throw d undies than having my hands to wash them…..yeeeyaaak!!
    but yr eating marathon really made me missed penang food lor….we also ate & ate non shop in penang except the apom that u repeatedly mentioned…must try one day edi.
    luckily yr maid tarak bring ‘kawan’ back & overnight lor….LOL LOL…tadak cctv kah?? next time can download her video to entertain us here ma….haha

  24. hello peggy! i received your mum’s xmas card, please give her my thanks and wishes, although i am not able to send you and your mother xmas cards now, i wish you, your mother, dennis, david and your family a merry xmas and a happy new year

  25. HI, just reading your words already made me drool, no picture pun tak apa πŸ˜‰
    I got food poisoning after eating nasi lemak during my trip back home, terrible. Hope you and kids feel better soon.

  26. You make me feel like going to Penang for th foooooood, nyummmy…..errrr….besides meeting up with Alice of course *grins*

Leave a Reply

