Our short workoliday…


Before I start on our short work cum holiday, would like to write about Kylie’s new bicycle. I got it with my credit card points recently. I always get one bicycle each time during the credit card special points redemption each year. However, Apah had to buy the accessories which did cost quite a bit to make his face turn pale…

We dare not let her cycle outside without supervision as her legs are still too short for the bike.  I know I said I don’t like to buy anything from the Barbie range for her but they do not have many choices for the girls bicycle accessories. Since the bike had a Barbie theme, must as well get the Barbie accessories lorr…

For the recent school holidays, we went down south as it was due time for me to visit my customers from Melaka to Muar to Batu Pahat and finally Johor Bahru. I like to bring along the kids so they can experience what I experienced before when I was a kid. This is to let them know, holidays don’t come free.

My dad used to bring us along for his visits to the customers when we were kids. I remember we had more stops before and we dare not complain very much, despite the heat and the long journey. In those days we didn’t have the the luxury of North-South Highway and the many clean toilet stops so can you imagine where we stopped for toilet breaks?? My dad used to scare us with weird weird stories about wild animals coming to lick our buttocks in order to make us speed up the process and don’t dilly dally!!

However, despite the comfort the kids had they still complained when I stopped to talk to my customers. I had to remind them by asking them to observe the customer’s shop and ask them to count how many machines there are and tell them that the machines are bought from me. Without the sale of machines, NO HOLIDAY! (for Kylie’s case, I have to say no HOTEL, as she doesn’t really understand what is holiday but she sure knows what’s a HOTEL!)

We stopped at Melaka for the 1st night. We had a good corporate rate from Apah’s company. The journey from Batu Pahat to JB was quite a long one due to the after hour jam. Couldn’t make it to visit the customers, so I called them to inform that I will see them on Sunday instead. By the time we reached the hotel in JB it was late. Was meeting another customer for dinner but he told me to take my time. So I had a hair wash at the salon in the hotel and was slaughtered charged RM68 for it! I could have like 4 washes with that amount with my regular hairdresser! Darn! But what to do, Amah got to look good marrrr…..

The customer treated us dinner at this Thai restaurant which was close to our hotel. The food was good and the ambience was better! Definitely a must go when you go to JB.

Saturday was a day in Singapore. Collected my supplies from my usual supplier (so it was not totally for fun la) and off we went to Chinatown to collect my pre-ordered bento accessories.

The Disney cookie/bread cutter was cheaper in Takashimaya.  Kai Kai in Chinatown was selling at SGD9.90 (but I had a 10% member discount so it worked out to be similar oso la) while in Taka it was SGD8.90 nett. My collection has reached a level where I do not have enough space to store them anymore! So I think I will stop buying from now on…(as if…)

It was Saturday and the roads were congested as everyone was going towards city centre. We decided not to park in Orchard as the parking fees are exorbitant. So we decided to park in Suntec City Mall since their parking charges are considered the most reasonable at SGD1.07 per hour. We hopped on the MRT to Orchard to visit my favourite Takashimaya and to meet a buddy for lunch.

I was thinking of getting the WMF pressure cooker but the sales girl was not around to help me and I didn’t notice any special buys..so I guess I have to wait till the next sale. We rushed off to Marina City to meet my long lost primary school friends. That was the first time I met them after ..eh hem…many years (you do the calculation). We had a good time chatting and that left me only time to shop at Carrefour Suntec! We bought some food stuff (imported instant noodles, etc) and a new bicycle helmet for Kieran. It was really a cool one and the boy was so happy with it, he started wearing it in the car!

Before going back to the car, Apah wanted to get a pair of shorts and look at what happened to the kids…

Kylie was so tired she knocked out on the trolley! We bought some packed sushi for snack in the car as Apah was worried of the jam on the causeway. It was not as bad as the previous trip I made and we crossed over in over an hour.

Once we reached the hotel, we decided against going out for food, so we cooked some cup noodles which I bought earlier on. Thanks goodness they had the non spicy one for the kids. (It was a prepacked Korean cupnoodles pack which I saw them selling here in Jusco but it was about RM1+ more expensive compared to Spore’s price. Hahaha…that was “huge” savings alright! I must say the hotel we stayed in JB was very good. Probably it’s still new. The service was good and the price was very reasonable. It was the Paragon on Jln Harimau.

The next day was customer time before we left JB for Melaka again. Tried to make the trip more relaxing and decided against going back straight to KL. Dinner was at Ole Sayang, packed with tourists (probably made famous from the Spore Drama series, Little Nyonya). Had to wait for the table and the food was quite good I must say.

We had morning breakfast with an old friend whom we have not seen in quite a while. And then off we went back to check out and onward to the Melaka Zoo.

We were sooo tired after that and Kylie knocked out immediately!

We stopped at Ayer Keroh rest area for lunch so she just had a short siesta..The queue at the A & W was sooo long even though it was not so long and they didn’t want to serve the waffle due to short of staff! WTF! Always liddis during that time of the year la…We shopped at the Al Ikhsan shop in the rest area (ya Amah must shop everywhere!) and bought Kieran his new crocs. couldn’t wait till HK. We didn’t have time to get them in Spore either so no choice la..

Kieran insists that he’s not tired and doesn’t need to nap but after a while…

9 responses to “Our short workoliday…

  1. hahahahha..your comment about apah really had me in stitches!! wow, looks like your trip is very fruitful eh? Visited your customers, shopping and even went to the zoo. Were you tired?

  2. biz & shopping/holidaying in a single trip. nice! but seems to be very pack and rush

  3. a long weekend and kill two birds with a stone!

  4. wah liao..that hair wash memang cut throat O.o. Not bad eh u manage to shop for alot barang ehe

  5. kylie has long hair! so sweet. she looks so much like kor kor in the first pic…i thought i was seeing double! u bot crocs at the rest area? omg! u really shop everywhere….

  6. i like kylie new bicycle, and kylie look so cool on her new bicycle and with all the gear on!

    wah amah, more bento stuff!!!

  7. Kylie really look like Kieren in the Bicycle photos…

    Yeah man. You cialatt lah. Shop shop shop aje!!!

  8. Hey.. didn’t go Singapore Zoo because bz shoing.. but went to Malacca zoo.

    Hehe.

  9. Your girl’s bicycle is so cool, love the wheels!

Leave a Reply

