Beijing Day 5


We woke up early as we were going to the Mutianyu Great Wall which is slightly further away from town.  There were ready taxis available in front of the hotel and after a short negotiation (RMB500 to & fro) we were on our way up. However, the weather was not kind to us. It was  gloomy & cloudy day. The taxi driver did tell us that Saturday was a better day (he was so right) but we already had plans to meet up with Mom to 3 Angels at Temple of Heaven.

On the way to the Great Wall we could vaguely see the wall as it was misty & cloudy. It was such a waste. From this I vowed that I will be back to Beijing again, maybe with the kids sometime in the future.

Upon reaching, the driver took us to the ticket counter & made sure we got the cable car tickets . He said he will just wait for us in the car till we come down.

Walking to the cable car station

The scenery from the cable car was not very good. It was just a short ride to the wall.  I was really expecting to have that feeling of having my breath taken away from all the photos & tv programs I have seen before regarding this wonder of the world but however, I was gravely disappointed due to the unkind weather. It was really misty & the view was of course not as breathtaking as I had expected.

I really like this photo & I took it of course! It’s located behind the wall..I wonder what it’s for..for the soldiers to relax???

Did you notice the rainbow?? It was raining!!

We had to run to those “rest areas” to escape the rain. Was super tired so I didn’t mind the rest time. The steps here were really steep & I struggled to walk along the wall. At one point of time I had to stop to catch up with my breath & I was like breathing so heavily that Apah thought I was going to collapse!! I am so unfit!!

The rain didnt seem to stop & we decided to leave after a while. It was a bummer alright. While walking down towards the carpark there were stalls along the way. Apah saw this communist hat & wanted to get it. I thought it was bulky & waste of money! But he liked it & the vendor of course detected how much he liked it & didnt really budge much on the price. A few stalls down the road offered a cheaper price but he already had the stupid hat in his hands! Blek..

The taxi ride back to the hotel was about an hour. We rested a bit and walked out to the nearby shopping centre to have dinner. Was too tired to go anywhere else. Was disapointed there were no good & reasonably priced foot reflexology service around the hotel we stayed so Apah had to give me a massage!!

6 responses to “Beijing Day 5

  1. nice blog you have here =) I wrote to you before, dono if you got my message! I’m a new blogger here. =)

    I’ve been to beijing before, but it was kind of pointless for me to go. because I didn’t understand the mandarin language and all the tour guides spoke in mandarin =( so it wasn’t that much fun!

    jen

  2. too bad it rained. when my sis and i went in aig last year, the weather was perfect! not too hot, not too cold…and we went up using the ski lift…it was quite nice actually…

  3. Wuah Laundry Amah, still going strong with Beijing post ah. Tabik! Tabik!

  4. hey still stuck at beijing ahh you 🙂
    hopefully d next time u r there, the weather can live up to yr expectation lor…

  5. Haha.. like Jaccs, I also want to say the same thing.. still stuck at Beijing?

    RMB500 cheap wo. I remember I went 7yrs ago RMB800, but 4 of us.

  6. Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a comment